Another newbie, hopefully

Take a sledgehammer and wrap an old sweater around it. This is your "shovelglove." Every week day morning, set a timer for 14 minutes. Use the shovelglove to perform shoveling, butter churning, and wood chopping motions until the timer goes off. Stop. Rest on weekends and holidays. Baffled? Intrigued? Charmed? Discuss here.
clarabear

Another newbie, hopefully

Post by clarabear » Thu Oct 05, 2006 12:13 am

Hi all,
I just went to the hardware store to get a small sledgehammer last week. Since all they had was large ones, I ordered a 6 pound one which should be here any day.

The website's description of the exercise is hilarious, especially as I am a wannabe farmer. My husband and I moved from San Francisco to buy an abandoned farm in Ohio a couple years ago. I really want to garden, with all the digging and such that that entails but am much too weak to get much done. Maybe if I shovelglove this winter, next spring I'll be a farming powerhouse! Here's hoping.

Anyway, I have an idea for a new move that I know I need... "Starting the Lawnmower" (or weedeater, or chainsaw...) No way I can start them myself, I always have to ask my husband or a neighbor for help pulling the starter cord. This seems like something that practicing with a sledgehammer would be perfect for.

Anyway, thanks for a wonderful idea.

Margaret

reinhard
Site Admin

Post by reinhard » Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:48 am

Welcome!

One of the shovelglove pioneers, my former neighbor, Justin, is now farming in Maine. Maybe shovelglove will kick off a new "back to the land" movement :-).

Let us know what you come up with regarding the lawnmower.

Warning: we've got a few push mower fans here who I'm sure will try to convert you.

Reinhard

clarabear

push mower

Post by clarabear » Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:42 am