Habit stickiness

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

bonnieUK

Habit stickiness

Post by bonnieUK » Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:56 pm

Hi Peeps

This may be a little OT but I was just thinking about habit stickiness.

For example, No S diet is a habit that has stuck for me, and became "sticky" very quickly (I realise I'm still a newbie, but feel quite habitualised, it's rather Pavlovian).

Getting up early is another habit that stuck, same goes for using a little timer for some home some tasks (to make sure I don't linger on them too long!).

I've found that when a habit doesn't stick it's because the rewards don't seem worth the hassle of implementing them, or because too many other things conflict with the new habit (I'm sure laziness plays a part, but then a good habit is supposed to work even when some degree of laziness exists!).

Anyway, not sure if I really have a point here, other than I guess that I think No S is probably the most "sticky" habit I've tried and has had the biggest impact on daily life (for the better of course!).

p.s. thanks to whoever posted a link to flylady.net recently - I've just joined in hopes of getting my house organised finally (hopefully that'll be a habit that sticks too!).

reinhard
Site Admin

Post by reinhard » Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:36 pm

Bonnie,

Habit stickiness is a subject I'm very interested in...

I think it boils down to three things. "Sticky" habits (or "habit friendly behaviors") are: simple, natural, and unobtrusive.

They need to be simple because habit is dumb. You can't automate complicated conscious processes into something unconscious and routine.