Milk and juice?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

thtrchic

Milk and juice?

Post by thtrchic » Sun Dec 03, 2006 10:10 pm

Hi. I'm brand new to this, just starting today and have one question. I understand that it's fine to have some milk or juice. Can that be between meals or only with them?

Thanks.

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:47 pm

I would say only with meals.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

"You are what you eat -- so don't be Fast, Easy, Cheap or Fake."

zoolina

Post by zoolina » Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:53 pm

As a card carrying hypoglycemic, I had a hard time with cutting out snacks at first. On my bike ride home I would just lose it, so I started drinking a glass of milk after work.

But strangely, after a week or two my body got used to not snacking and now I don't need the milk most days.

Iregirl

Post by Iregirl » Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:32 pm

My approach may not be for everyone (especially the hypoglycemics!) but I cut out every drink but water and green tea. I find if I have a drink with any kind of sweetness to it, it makes me crave more instantly, plus making me crave the worst kind of all: soda.

I save the soda for my S days, and on my N days I drink water and lots of it. I very quickly go from craving soda to craving water, water and more water! It becomes the most refreshing, delicious drink after a few days of drinking only that. I feel like my body really appreciates the change, and I feel a lot more clear-headed and calm when I'm not downing glasses of fructose and sugar. I never thought as a kid that I'd crave water, but I've experienced this many times as an adult.